Daycare

I had always declared that I never wanted to be a stay-at-home mom. For some reason, I thought I would get bored or crave daily adult interaction…until I actually became a mom. Now I can totally see why people want to stay home with their children. To attend to their every need and witness every milestone. Unfortunately for me, I will be returning to work after Labor Day. Don’t get me wrong, I realize how very fortunate I am to receive 5 months of maternity leave and when I return to work, to be able to work from home 2 days a week, but it still depresses me that I won’t be spending every day with my little bean. In my heart though, I realize that returning to work is better for my family in the long run. Having two incomes will allow us to better provide for L and overall, live more comfortably.

That being said, I am now starting the process of finding a daycare provider for a couple days a week. Luckily for me, I have two sisters who are teachers who have explained to us the long-term benefits of starting your child in daycare-even if only for 1-2 days per week. They learn to socialize & communicate with their peers and these interactions often become apparent in their early education years. My sisters have also provided some questions to ask potential sites and things to look for. There are also several websites online that provide checklists for daycare interviews. I’ve reached out to a few in the area and will hopefully be setting up tours in the next few weeks. Our hopes are to find an affordable center that has qualified & friendly teachers and a safe, secure and clean site. It would also be nice to possibly meet some other parents with children our age that live in the area. I know my Mom made several ‘mom’ friends while taking us to the play center and nursery school. Wish us luck!

xoxo, bobby’s girls

One thought on “Daycare

Leave a Reply

